Pages

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Sunday afternoon visit to the National Gallery April 2010



After celebrating the centenary of the laying of the foundation stones a group of us headed off to the National Gallery for a visit led by Lucrezia Walker.



We met in the Sainsbury Wing



and began by paying our respects to our patron Jude (right) painted by Ugolino de Nerio in about 1324-5.



Then we turned around to look at the oldest painting in the Gallery, The Virgin and Child Enthroned, with Scenes of the Nativity and the Lives of the Saints by Margarito of Arezzo of about 1260.



Then on to the Pistoia Santa Trinità Altarpiece by Francesco Pesellino from 1455-60,



which was next to
Saint George and the Dragon by Paolo Uccello, about 1470.



Then we had tea.







Friday, April 23, 2010

St Jude's Centenary


This Sunday marks the centenary of the laying of the foundation stones of St Jude's on St Mark's Day, 25 April 1910. The foundation stone of the Lady Chapel was laid by the Earl of Crewe (at the time Secretary of State for the Colonies) with the words "In the faith of Jesus Christ we place this foundation stone in the name of God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Ghost. Amen" using a silver trowel presented to him by Lady Byron on behalf of the Church Building Committee. The service was taken by the vicar designate, the Reverend Basil Bourchier. The Bishop of Dover (Archdeacon of Canterbury) was the preacher. The clergy and choir, together with the choirs of St Mary's Hendon and All Saints' Childs Hill processed from the Institute to the Church site.

The second stone was laid by the Hon. W.F.D. Smith (later Viscount Hambleden and the grandson of W.H.Smith the newsagent and stationer) with a trowel presented by Viscountess Trafalgar. The stones were designed by Eric Gill and a 'time capsule' bottle was placed under each containing a copy of the Times and other documents.

The Lady Chapel was dedicated
and opened for worship on St Jude's Day, 28 October 1910, as work continued on the building of the main body of the church.

On 7 May next year we will celebrate the consecration of the Church and the creation of the parish.